/ Get to Know Us / News / All News / NSB Celebrates Team Member Achievements at 2024 Employee Appreciation Banquet in Portland

NSB Celebrates Team Member Achievements at 2024 Employee Appreciation Banquet in Portland

PORTLAND—Over 300 Norway Savings Bank team members gathered together at the Italian Heritage Center in Portland on February 13 for an evening of camaraderie, community, and celebration at the 2024 Employee Appreciation Banquet, an annual NSB tradition that recognizes individuals and teams from across the Bank for their outstanding work and contributions.

Individual Awards


President’s Award
This year’s President’s Award winner is Jackie Curtis, Vice President of Human Resources, who personifies the strong initiative, leadership, and selflessness honored by the award. Curtis was lauded during the award presentation for her commitment and compassion, particularly in voluntarily covering for a team member struggling with health issues.

“Jackie goes above and beyond to provide outstanding support across the organization, and she inspires her team to do so as well,” said Dan Walsh, President and CEO of Norway Savings. “She is an individual who represents our high achievement and support culture on a daily basis and has earned the trust and respect of her team members as well as leaders across the Bank.”


Employee of the Year Award
Corey McEntyre, Software Engineer III AVP, is the recipient of the Employee of the Year Award, an honor presented to a high achieveing and supportive employee that is largely selected from team member nominations. Based in Norway, McEntyre was described by his co-workers as always being positive and willing to work on any request sent his way no matter how large the undertaking.

“Corey has a unique and confident yet humble approach to the job. He treats it as much more than the essential routine tasks and responsibilities as defined in the job description. He cares about exceeding, not for himself, rather for the benefit of everyone else,” said Ann Brett, Senior Vice President, Chief Technology and Information Security Officer. “If there is a way to improve a process or automate a task, he will find a way. This perseverance has resulted in hundreds of hours saved by the several teams throughout the bank.”


Best Supporting Role Award
This year’s Best Supporting Role Award winner is Talley Estes, Commercial Loan Administrator Team Lead AVP. The award is given to an employee who consistently provides outstanding support to ensure world-class customer service throughout the Bank. Also based in Norway, Estes is described by co-workers as a person who possesses a wealth of information and is always willing to help.

“Talley always makes sure that she shares pertinent information with the team, goes above and beyond for the team, and is the go-to person for any commercial loan question,” said Carolyn Thomas, Senior Vice President, Chief Risk Officer, Senior Deposit Operations and BSA Officer. “She is friendly, approachable, and an all-around pleasure to work with.”


Individual Excellence Award
After stepping up to lead the Bank’s daily treasury management and year-end budget preparation following the loss of a key team member, Dylan Mooney, Senior Investments and Treasury Officer VP, is the winner of the Individual Excellence Award. Mooney is known for his approachability and ability to present complex information in very understandable terms to those he encounters.

“In addition to being incredibly productive with his role and responsibilities, he always makes time for mentoring and shadowing sessions or just to share his knowledge if someone stops by his office or calls,” said Brian Shibles, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer. “Dylan really stepped up in a big way to provide stability and thoughtful strategy to our borrowing and funding needs and to lead the budget process. His efforts and dedication are appreciated and are worthy of this recognition.” 


Culture Champion Award
The winner of this year’s Culture Champion Award is Jen Gillespie, Assistant Market Manager in Portland, who was honored for her “can-do” attitude and willingness to offer coverage and operational assistance across the Bank’s 24 locations if needed.

“While balancing the many demands of her primary role, Jen was instrumental in assisting with other important Bank initiatives. In addition to her core responsibilities, she is responsible for coordinating staffing resources to be sure all branch locations have the coverage needed and the ability to provide the highest level of customer experience,” said Darci Hamm, Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer.

Culture Awards

The NSB Culture Awards are presented to team members who exhibit elements of the Bank’s culture through their daily responsibilities and high quality of work:

Communication Awards: Bobbi Burke (Norway), Michele Close (Remote/Portland), Heidi Ortiz (Norway), and Jesse Shand (Remote/Naples)

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Awards: Dante Colley (Portland), Paul Gimlewicz (Portland), Tina Merritt (Remote/Auburn), and Cheryl Powers (Norway)

Hunger for Excellence Awards: Karie Anderson (Naples), Nate Dubois (Yarmouth), Heidi Edwards (Bridgton), and Carter Lessard (Windham)

Leadership Awards: Jen Corbett (Remote/Otisfield), Frank Farrell (Norway), Amy Lehigh (Standish), and Jenn Piper (Remote/Peru)

Team Member Experience: Kim Bean (Portland), Liz Hatch (Norway), Seth Johnson (Portland), and Kelcey Kimball (Remote/Oxford)

Length of Service Awards

Employees celebrating a milestone anniversary at NSB are also recognized leading up to and during the event:

40 Years of Service: Ann Brett (Senior Vice President, Chief Technology and Information Security Officer, Norway)

35 Years of Service: Sandy Smith (Mortgage Loan Closer, Norway)

25 Years of Service: Amy Bessey (Accounting Specialist II, Norway)

20 Years of Service: Kati Chandler (BSA Administrator, Brunswick), Catriena Marois (Deposit Operations Representative II, Norway), Robin Miller (Customer Relations Representative II, Fryeburg), Cari Morrissette (Accounting Specialist I, Norway), Barry Towle (Security Officer VP, BSA & Security, Brunswick) ​​

15 Years of Service: Karri Card (BSA Due Diligence Analyst, Brunswick), Darcy Coslet (Market Supervisor, Freeport), Kaela Delan (Customer Care Center Assistant Manager AVP, Norway), Ann Lewis (Customer Relations Representative II, Topsham), Vicky Libby (Business Intelligence Manager VP, Norway), Christine McMann (Applications Analyst III VP, New Gloucester), Kelly Sturmer (Mortgage Loan Officer VP, Standish), Mark Thurlow (Custodian, Norway)

10 Years of Service: Jaime Brochu (LO Assist Manager-Mortgage Origination AVP, Norway), Jen Corbett (Mortgage Sales Manager VP, Remote/Otisfield), Frank Farrell (Mainframe Manager VP, Norway), Liz Hatch (Deposit Operations Representative III, Norway), Corey McEntyre (Software Engineer III AVP, Norway), Ian Pullen (Commercial Loan Officer VP, Auburn), Heather Whitney (Branch Supervisor, Bethel)

5 Years of Service: Shawn Baldwin (Commercial Credit and Administration Officer VP, Portland), Rachel Barton (Retail Lending Quality Control Specialist, Norway), Gary Bellegarde (Commercial Loan Officer VP, Norway), Andrea Benvie (Market Personal Banker, Standish), Kelina Demers (Personal Banker, Norway), Carter Lessard (Market Manager, Windham and Gray), Holly Pepin (Commercial Loan Officer VP, Kennebunk), Jenn Piper (Compliance and Risk Officer VP, Remote/Peru)